Travel 01: 10 Hours Layover in Hong Kong, What to do?

Originally posted in tumblr.

Travel Date: April 08, 2017

From: Dubai

ETD: 1730H

Author’s note: Sharing as much as I could remember.

Time check: 4:16 am HKG time..I’m so excited!

And we landed.

First things first, go straight to immigration for access to the country. You will sign an arrival card like below that are available in the booth. It only took me 30 minutes.

Note: Not all passport holder can easily get past immigration and have the transit visa. Some will be asked to provide supporting documents. Look up IATA Travel Centre online to know the requirements for your country of origin. You must do this before booking a flight.

image
arrival card

Now that I’m done in the immigration next thing I did was to buy sim card.

“I was flying alone and have no contact in Hongkong so I needed google in my life.”

I got the CSL card – I’m sure their are other provider but this one is recommended by the saleslady in 7/11.

For those who can’t wait to share their experiences or want to go live in social media you should have this. 

image
CSL sim card

It cost me 48 HKD with the same amount of regular airtime in it.

Airtime is valid for 30 days so if your return date is within the validity and you have another long layover then you can still use it.

I converted my airtime to a day of unlimited data access at 18 HKD rate with calls and text already.

***

Here’s a picture of my touchdown. ü

image
Hi.

At the back is the tourist information desk which opens at 5:30 am.

I bought a roundtrip train ticket from Airport to Hongkong Central and vice versa for 100 HKD.

Note: You have to return same day.

image
airport link roundtrip ticket

I left the airport at 5:54 am and passed by Tsing Yi and Kowloon station.

By the way, these are the airport link interior.

image
self-service luggage deposit area
image
aisle

I hopped off to Hongkong Central station at 6:30 am.

I exited at B1 door looking for the 15C bus station to Lower Ground Peak Terminus. However, I couldn’t find it.

I decided to roam around instead.

I saw the observatory, beautiful buildings and other street stuff.

image
hkg observatory
image
image
image

Thinking that I spent too much time now I hailed a taxi to the peak.

It cost me 73.5 HKD but this amount is because we went OVER the peak. I don’t know if it is expensive or not.

From where I live and the country I currently work, the driver usually sits at the left but here they stay in the opposite.

image
image

I reached the peak site by 7:40 am but is still closed.

I grabbed the chance to do some “occular” while waiting.

This is the The Peak Lookout. I’ve heard it was a cafe.

image
The Peak Lookout

And the steady tram…

image
The Peak Tram old wagon

The management knew that majority of the visitors would want a picture of the tram but they know it’s dangerous especially a moving one. Hence, they make it possible by placing an old wagon outside.

With nothing else much to see and still got time before Skyterrace 428 opens at 8 am I took my breakfast (the flight food).

image 

8:00 am.

Entering the building you get to see shops inside.

More cafes.

Those little buns are popularly known as eggetes.

image

and then there are the cute cakes…

image
image
image

This one cafe shop below is a classic because of the old model tv stickered with famous Chinese personalities including Bruce Lee.

image

Trivia: one of his top grossing movie was Enter The Dragon.

There are also other shops that I did not take photo of but there were clothing and jewelry store, candy, restaurants and other souvenir shops on upper floors.

*As for a travel remembrance I bought ref magnet for 30 HKD.

Before coming to Hongkong I read so many blogs and one said…

You haven’t been to Hong Kong if you haven’t visited the Peak”.

image
Sky Terrace ticket at 50 HKD.
image
Sky Terrace 428 entrance/exit.

Here are few other photos I took from the top.

They have this gimmick of a huge heart where you can hang your message in a heart-shaped paper. Click link for video → https://youtu.be/ZsjdRyGee0E

image
image
This is further to the I Heart You sign. On the right most side.
image
View of the peak tram rail.
image
VICTORIA PEAK!!!♥

and tadaa…

image
View of Hongkong by day. Look at them skyscrapers.
image
Inside shot.

I advised you guys to go there around 10 or 11 am because it was just too foggy at 8 am.

Time check, 9 am.

Going down and out but look at the Peak Central mixed with tourists and locals. Two (2) hours prior there were only few people.

image
image
View of Victoria Peak from Peak Central.

You can also view Hong Kong at Wild Cafe.

image
Wild Cafe

And now it’s time to ride the tram back to Central. Chaga-chaga-choo-choo!

image
The Peak Tram

Single tickets are sold at 32 HKD. There’s a roundtrip ticket available too which cost less rather than buying them separately and that already includes terrace access but because of the bus situation earlier I wasn’t able to take advantage of it. 😦

image
Peak tram ticket.
image
image
Peak tram interior.
image

Click me to see video of the Victoria Harbour while in the tram.

Tip: Sit on the left when going back to the Lower Terminus if you want to record the view.

Once at the Lower Terminus I walked to Tsim Sha Tsui Pier 7 in Central pier.

I passed by a Dingding route and saw cable wires in the street.
I also passed by a park where Filipinos gather on Sunday, the Observatory, IFC-International Financial Center and HKG Maritime.

It was quite a walk.

image
Dingding cable wires
image
Central Park
image
A selfie of me in the footbridge to pier
image
A picture of the lady taking snap of the Central Pier
image
The Hongkong Maritime next to the Central pier

Next stop, Kowloon…

From Central pier you will pay a token for 3.40 HKD (if you wanna go back to Central that is) from the slot machine.

image

image
Tokens. They are made of plastic.
image
Ferry boat upper deck
image
Ferry boat

The ferry ride only took less than 10 minutes and I reached the Harbour City, TST, Kowloon.

image

There are luxurious brands EVERYWHERE.. bags, cosmetics, designer clothes, glasses..everything!

image
Hermes
image
Dior
image
Tiffany & Co.
image
image
image
image
Burberry

My main reason for coming to TST was to look for food, the local ones. And as I went hunting I saw something interesting. A sex toy store and sex magazine stand (unfortunately wasn’t able to take picture of the latter). Also along the street are ice cream car, more cosmetics shops and even dumpster.

Kowloon is definitely alive and full of colors and surprises.

image
found something yet? look closely.
image
image
image

Back to the food talk, I ordered seaweed noodle soup with 4 different seafood balls for 60 HKD. The serving was too much for a single person.

image

I was actually expecting street food but I am in the wrong place, I should have been in Mongkok but maybe next time.

In Kowloon is where you can find the Avenue of the Stars, Symphony of the Lights, Hong Kong museum and Clock Tower but I only got a picture of the latter. I can’t even stay for Symphony of the Lights because I don’t have enough time.

Clock tower.

I went back to Central, same route, this time in the lower deck.

image
Lower deck is packed

***

Time check: Already past 11 a.m.

Look at that fruit market which was not there in the earlier.

“oh hi there, Miss. :)”

image

Bonus:

My sister just arrived in the Central Station. We have 5 hours flight difference so she’ll have to spend the night in Hongkong while I will be on my way to Philippines.

Here she is… the face.. 😀

image

I returned shortly to airport at 1 p.m and was bound to Cebu at 4:20 p.m. I make it 3 hours early because I have to pass by frisking and immigration and who knows if there’s a long queue or not.

Aaaand by the way thank you for my comfy green company for the short trip.. Hope you enjoyed my shots and story telling and hopefully I am able to help you or give you ideas on your layover.

See you on my 16 Hours Hongkong Layover next time. :))

XO,

Guil.

image
2 thoughts on “Travel 01: 10 Hours Layover in Hong Kong, What to do?

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

